Baby shoes and school holiday hurrahs!

November 16, 2010 § 2 Comments

Finally! Tomorrow is the Hari Raya Haji Muslim holiday here in Singapore and there are only two more days of school left to go and it’s vacation time again! This means I will have the big girls here to help me around the house and take care of the handful toddler, which translates to MORE SEWING TIME!! Yahoo!!

Another thing to be happy about is that I finally figured out how to work my husband’s quirky Nikon, and managed to photograph some of my finished projects. I have also been able to install Photoshop and edit my work. So, tadaaa!!! Baby shoes!

This pair, I made out of Japanese quilting fabric left over when I made Daughter #1’s Yucata for International Friendship Day earlier this year. Aren’t they lovely? The cotton fabric has gold detailing in the print, making it more special.  And if you look closely, you’ll see little Japanese girls wearing summer Yucatas. Pretty, pretty!!

These baby Mary Janes  are reversible and can be hand washed. I did not use the very stiff  interfacing required by the project instructions, because this was my first time making these, and these are really very tiny (I made size 3), I thought that I would have a hard time sewing with it. I was wrong. Sewing these couldn’t be easier! I’m going to use stiffer interfacing next time to give the shoes more body.

I made both these shoes using scraps from my Red, polka dotted Lisa Shirt:

Dotted Lisa by Kaith (via Seamshandmade.tumblr.com)

Cool huh? These baby shoes are a great way to scrap-bust, they’re easy to cut and make, and the photo- instructions that came with the pattern were very clear, very easy to follow by any dummy like me. LOL! Any Mom-to-be is going to be happy to receive them for their little ones.

You can find more about where to get the links for the baby shoes pattern and instructions for the shoes from my earlier post here.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Baby shoes and school holiday hurrahs!

  • taeco says:

    Long time no see! How have you been?^.^

    Lovely shoes!
    And I’d like to see your daughter’s Yukata!
    There are few moms who can make Yukata for their kids even in Japan..

    I wish you happy holidays!

    • Kaith says:

      Haha! I’m fine, thanks for asking! Yeah I know it’s been a long time since I posted, right?? It’s embarrassing. LOL! I posted a picture of my daughters on Burdastyle a while back. I think I can find the copy so I can post it here too. I love Japanese fabric, if it weren’t a bit expensive here in Singapore, I’d hoard them too. 😛

      Thanks again, Taeco, for stopping by my blog. See you again soon!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Baby shoes and school holiday hurrahs! at Tahian Ko. My Sewing Space.

meta

