I need to make me a dress…

November 24, 2010 § Leave a comment

I’m going to a party or maybe an anniversary dinner (hint! hint!) and I need to sew myself a dress. Here are a couple of candidates I am looking at right now that is tickling my sewing fancy. I’d like something flattering to all body types, a pattern that is cheap and easy to alter and to fit on my figure, and easy to put together as I only have five days left to make it. This is going to be my first dress in a while, the last time I made a dress was for my youngest sister, a blue sweetheart neckline cocktail dress with a matching bolero. Urgh, I wish I’d taken a picture of it! And of course, where do I turn to for inspiration? Where else, Burdastyle! Here are my candidates for my first dress project:

Candidate #1 The Danielle dress. This dress, for me, is the most popular dress style, Burdastyle free pattern ever produced.

Danielle dress from Burdastyle

Check out the member creations for this pattern, and it has a whopping 196 member creation uploads to date! There are more than a couple of BS member design variations that are pretty cool.

Seafoam Green V-Neck Danielle by Woman via Burdastyle

Danielle dress by Amongno via Burdastyle

Candidate #2: The Heidi dress also by Burdastyle

Heidi dress via Burdastyle

Here are a couple of Heidi versions that are totally impressive!

Heidi and Vincent by NikkiShell via Burdastyle

Heidi goes to a wedding by Gingerrachel via Burdastyle

Heidi dress - Wedding guest by Missymay via Burdastyle

Candidate #3: The Jenny Dress variation by Burdastyle

The Jenny dress variation by Burdastyle

Talented much!! Here are a couple of member created Jenny dresses that I liked:

Rorschach Jenny by Nikkishell via Burdastyle

Gathered Jenny by u120418 via Burdastyle

Midnight blue Jenny dress by Brooklynstitch via Burdastyle

These are truly inspiring, don’t you think? You know, if I had time, I’d make all three designs. 😀 Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I need to make me a dress… at Tahian Ko. My Sewing Space.

meta

